# Minutes of the Independent State Agencies Committee (ISAC) Held via teleconference August 28, 2023

Commissioner McCabe called the meeting to order at 3:00 PM (ET).

Commissioner McCabe directed Greg Carmean to call the roll. The following members were present:

Agency	Representative	Other Commissioners and Staff
Delaware Department of Natural		
Resources and Environmental		
Control		
Delaware Division of the Public		Andrea Maucher
Advocate		Ruth Ann Price
Delaware PSC		Samantha Kayne
		Patricia Gannon
District of Columbia Department		
of Environment		
District of Columbia PSC		Brian Edmonds
		Tom Shetty
		Chris Lundt
Illinois Citizens Utility Board		
Illinois Commerce Commission	Commissioner Ann McCabe	Bill VanderLaan
		Katharine McCormick
		Nicholas Hromalik
		Zachary Callen
		Larry Borum
		Jim Zolnierek
Illinois Donartment of Natural		Christine Ericson
Illinois Department of Natural Resources		
Illinois Power Agency	Rachael Bruketta	
Indiana Department of		
Environmental Management		
Indiana Office of Utility		
Consumer Counselor		
Indiana State Utility Forecasting		
Group		
Indiana Utility Regulatory Comm	David Veleta	David Johnston
		Steve Davies
Kentucky PSC		Justin McNeil
Maryland DNR		
Maryland Department of the		
Environment		
Maryland Energy Administration		Ryan Opsal
Maryland Office of People's		Philip Sussler
Counsel		1

Maryland Office of the Governor		
Maryland PSC	Commissioner Michael Richard	Morris Schreim Charles Herbert
Michigan PSC		Erik Hanser Advait Rode
New Jersey Board of Public Utilities		Ryann Reagan Ian Oxenham Amanda Lescano
New Jersey Rate Counsel		
North Carolina Utilities Comm		Jennifer Harrod
North Carolina Public Staff		
Ohio Power Siting Board		
Ohio PUC		Maura McClelland Mahila Christopher Sarah Parrot Isaac Paine
Pennsylvania Department of Environmental Protection		
Pennsylvania PUC		Christian McDewell Ghana Redman Elizabeth Barnes Matt Wurst Stephanie Wimer
Pennsylvania Office of Consumer Advocate		
Tennessee Public Utility		
Commission		
Virginia Department of Energy	Larry Corkey	
Virginia SCC		Fred Ochsenhirt Allison Samuel David Dalton Bill Chambliss
West Virginia PSC		
PJM Staff		Aaron Berner Evelyn Robinson Susan McGill Matthew Bernstein Matt LaRocque Jill Gates Alex Scheirer Molly Mooney Jere Downs Suzanne Herel Stephen Bennett Asanga Perera Stu Widom David Anders Andrew Gledhill Patrick Cobb

	Nick Dumitriu Matt Connolly Lori Murphy Lee Michael Bryson Mia Wu
OPSI Staff	Greg Carmean Kathy Burr Ben Sloan
Consumer Advocates of PJM States	

### Administration

A quorum was present. Commissioner McCabe moved to approve the minutes of the July 31, 2023 meeting. The minutes were approved without objection.

### **Educational Items**

### Electrification and Load Forecasting

Andrew Gledhill from PJM gave a presentation on the long term load forecasting process. He explained that PJM does a load forecast on an annual basis looking out 15 years. He described the various inputs that go into the forecast model, such as calendar data, economic drivers, weather, and factors affecting load like behind-the-meter solar, electric vehicles, and end use characteristics. He also discussed how PJM gets input from states on policies affecting load, like electrification targets and incorporates that into the forecast. He also explained the process PJM uses to develop forecasts of behind-the-meter solar and electric vehicles specifically.

## Long Term Regional Transmission Planning (LTRTP)

Asanga Perera presented an update on PJM's long term regional transmission planning (LTRTP) process. He described the goal of identifying transmission needs driven by changing resource mix and load growth. He explained PJM is focusing on scenario-based reliability planning since uncertainty increases in the long term. He outlined PJM's LTRTP framework of developing scenarios, conducting analyses, and identifying solutions. He explained PJM is considering three scenarios out to different timeframes and the purpose of each.

#### RTEP Updates

The ISAC did not have time to cover this agenda item and deferred it to the next open meeting.

### **Future Agenda Items**

There was no discussion of future agenda items.

With no further business, Commissioner McCabe adjourned the meeting at 4:06 PM (ET). The next ISAC is a closed meeting scheduled for September 18, 2023.